Varna & Dharma

Varnashram Dharma is part of the 6 Dharmas

There are 4 castes in Hindu Dharma including:-

  • Brahmin
  • Kshatriya
  • Vaishyas
  • Shudras

Brahmins should have the following 12 qualities

  • Religiosity
  • Truthfulness
  • Self-control
  • Penance
  • Humility
  • Modesty
  • Tolerance
  • Forgiveness
  • Selflessness
  • Charitable
  • Calmness
  • Knowledge of Shashtras

Brahmin caste should avoid the following: -

  • Anger
  • Lust
  • Greed
  • Fascination
  • Adultery
  • Cruelty
  • Spite
  • Pride
  • Lamentation
  • Desire/Wish
  • Jealousy
  • Foul Language

Lord Swaminarayan has said that those who have the above qualities will be happiest people in the whole universe and will be loved by the Lord Supreme. If these qualities are not followed then the Brahmins will only be Brahmins by name only.

Lord Brahma has achieved his greatness of his ability to forgive others. Those who show forgiveness to others will please Lord Supreme.

Brahmins body should not be used for own benefit, it should only be used for others people benefit and Penance. (Referred from Bhagwat Geeta).

Brahmins shall study and listen to four Vedas as these were the first scriptures written. The Brahmins shall perform 16 sanskars (Shikshapatri Shlock 91)

  • Giving Names
  • Removing birth hair
  • Receiving janoi
  • Marriage etc.

Brahmins day is divided into 3

  1. The first thing Brahmins should do is offer pooja to God
  2. Do services for Human beings
  3. Ancestor's yagna. Pooja done for people passed away

Brahmins shall consume no food if it is prepared by caste below them.

Brahmins are the only people allowed to perform wedding ceremonies in Hindu Dharma.

Lord Swaminarayan was born in a Brahmin family so Acharya and His family are also Brahmins.

In Shreemad Bhagwat it is said that Brahmins should perform yagnas, spread knowledge of religion and spend money they are given for religious purpose.

Kshatriya are warriors. They should not have feelings for the enemy on a battlefield nor should they be patient towards others. They should be strong, calm, not easily misted by others and should always have love for Brahmins. This is how they can achieve salvation. (Shikshapatri 89)

Vaishyas shall practice farming, trading, banking etc and the Shudras shall serve all above three castes.

Farmer is regarded the best for Vaishyas. This was first recommended by Vrad Parasur Muni before Lord Swaminarayan and He approved this so it existed before the time of Lord Swaminarayan. The rules of farming and ways to have a successful harvest are all written in the Oarashar Smruti.

My householders disciples shall donate one tenth of the earnings to Lord Shree Krishna. Those who cannot afford this shall donate one twentieth. (Shikshapatri)

Shudras shall serve above for livelihood. This will achieve moksha according to Unushasnik Parva, a scripture before Lord Swaminarayan but approved by Lord Swaminarayan.

Those satsangis classified as Shudras shall also make their forehead with Tilak and wear Kanthi (Shiskshapatri 44). To achieve salvation (moksha), they shall serve all four castes above.

All four Castes
Even those that are not Brahmins who follow Brahmin Dharma will be seen by Devas as Brahmins. (Shikshapatri Bhashya)

Dharma Shastra will tell us more on this but not said in Shikshapatri as people will not accept them and obey them.

Yagnayavalkya Muni said all four castes should obey these: -

  • Non-violence
  • Truthfulness
  • No stealing
  • Purity
  • Control of senses
  • Charitable
  • Forgiveness
  • Calmness

Sootak shall be observed by all four castes.